Skip to main content

Home | Library Catalog | Research Databases | E-books | Streaming Videos | Research Guides | Faculty Resources | Contact for Services

INT 2840 - Systems Analysis and Project Management: Resources

PGCC Databases

The library subscribes to a number of subject specific databases. You can search these databases to find articles from scholarly and popular sources, as well as videos, images and e-books. For a complete list of PGCC's databases click here.

Google vs. Library Databases

 

 

 

Why is searching a database better than searching Google for college research?

Not only will you save time, you'll get better quality resources. Here's why:

1. A search engine won't turn up many Web sites containing full-text articles from publications people know and recognize.
2. Sad, but true: not everything is on the Internet. Very few substantive materials are on the Internet for free.
3. There is no quality control for information on the Internet.
4. 2/3 of college students said the Internet doesn't offer a range of resources wide enough for their research needs.
5. And most importantly--it's what your instructor expects from your research. Your grade depends on it!
--Source: The Top Ten Reasons TexShare Is Better Than Just Surfing the Internet, Texas State Library.

Can I access the databases from home or work?

Yes, but you will be required to login with your Owl Link username and password.

How can I use the library databases?

For more detailed information, visit the Library Tutorial!

Resources Development/eLearning Librarian

Robert Fernandez's picture
Robert Fernandez
Contact:
200 Accokeek Hall
(301) 546-7566