Skip to main content

Home | Library Catalog | Research Databases | E-books | Streaming Videos | Research Guides | Faculty Resources | Contact for Services

Archives: Home

The college Archives contain records documenting the history, organization, policies, procedures and activities of the College.

Collection Development Policy

Library Hours

Fall/Spring Semester

Monday - Thursday:
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Sunday: Closed

Semester Breaks
(Intersession)

Monday - Friday: 
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Summer Session

Monday - Thursday:
8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Mini-session 
(no classes in session)

Monday - Thursday:
8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Spring Break: Closed

Winter Break: Closed

PGCC Archives

What are the Archives?

The college Archives contain records documenting the history, organization, policies, procedures and activities of the College. Types of records housed in the Archives include general administrative records; Board of Trustee minutes, reports, correspondence and routine records of committees and departments; student publications, handbooks, college catalogs, class schedules, audio & video cassettes, and photographs of College activities and related events. 

Currently, the PGCC Archives are stored in 8 locked file cabinets located on the first floor of the Library.

Who can use the Archives?

The Archives can be used by enrolled students, faculty, administrators, and staff.

How are materials organized?

Materials in the Archives are organized first by academic year, each drawer contains a range of years. Within the drawers materials are kept in folders which are in alphabetical order according to the pre-determined subject/category.

How do you request materials?

Materials can be requested at the Reference Services desk. The librarian on duty will locate the item requested and unlock the cabinet. All items in the Archives are for in house use and do not circulate. A photo ID is necessary to borrow materials and is kept on file until materials are returned to the librarian on duty.

Do I need an appointment?

An appointment is not necessary to use the Archives. But, if your research is extensive, we recommend that you contact the library before visiting for the most complete assistance.

In order to help you with your research the library staff will need the following information:

  • what your topic is
  • how the materials will be used  
  • what you need, including names, places and date range
  • deadlines for your research

Cabinet Breakdown

Cabinet 1

1958/59 - 1962/63
1963/64 - 1965/66
1966-67 - 1967/68
1968/69 - 1969/70
1970/71 - 1971/72

Cabinet 2

Videos 1982-1986
1972/73 - 1973/74

1974/75 - 1975/76
1976/77 - 1978/79
1979/89 - 1989/81 

Cabinet 3

Videos 1987 - 1993
1981/82 - 1982/83
1983/84
1984/85
1986/87 

Cabinet 4

Videos 1994
1987/88
1988/89 - 1989/90
1990/91 - 1992/93
1993/94 - 1994/95

Cabinet 5

1995/96 - 1997/98
1998/99 - 1999/2000
1999/2000 - 2002/03
Photographs / Negatives
(2 drawers) 

Cabinet 6

Videos
2003/04 - 2005/06
2006/07
2007/08 - 2008/09
2009/10 - 2010/11 

Cabinet 7

Instructional Research Reports
2011/12 - 2012/13 

Cabinet 8

Instructional Research Reports
(2 drawers)
Oversize & Duplicates