LibGuides: Biology: Databases

Anatomy & Physiology

Human Anatomy (Gale Interactive) This link opens in a new window
Content: 3D models to explore 4,300 structures and 13,500 identifiable landmarks in the human body
Purpose: Students can view images of the body structures to develop spatial reasoning
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and interactive elements; Save content to Google Drive.
After signing in with your MyPGCC username and password, use the code: goowls to access the database.

Science

Salem Science This link opens in a new window
Content: E-book title collection
Purpose: Users may read the full text of e-books on science topics
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full text articles, multimedia content, and other scientific research materials.
Purpose: Provides access to multiple sources and authoritative information on hot topics in science.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.

General Databases (Interdisciplinary)

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full-text articles, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and video files from multiple subjects.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer reviewed research from multiple subjects.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.

Open Access Journals / Databases

arXiv
Open access to e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
BMC
BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
PLOS
PLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen includes Springer’s portfolio of over 100 peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.
Wiley Open Access
Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences.

Biology: Databases

Research Databases