Skip to main content

Home | Library Catalog | Research Databases | E-books | Streaming Videos | Research Guides | Faculty Resources | Contact for Services

Research Tutorial

This tutorial aims to help develop effective library research skills and critical thinking skills in all courses at Prince George's Community College.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

The landing page for the Opposing Viewpoints in Context databases has various features. Featured or recent content scrolls in the top portion of the page. Other new or featured issues will be highlighted in the middle section.

 

Browse Issues

To look through all issues, click on the "Browse Issues" tab at the top. 

Once the new page loads, click on the drop-down menu to make your selection. New topics/issues will be listed underneath the drop-down menu. The drop-down menu has various options for browsing topics. Either choose a subject category or click on "View All" to get a listing of all the topics available from the database.

The "All" option will display an alphabetical, two column, list of all the covered topics. For this example, the chosen topic is "Abortion". Click on the link to open the topic page.
The topic pages provided by the Opposing Viewpoints database have a lot of information. The top section will have an overview of the topic. A list of links, tittled On This Page, will display on the right side of the page. These links include a variety of sources: viewpoints, academic journals, statistics, news, reference, images, videos. etc. 
Scroll down the page (or click on the links in the On This Page area) to get a preview of the articles. Each box will display three articles, sorted by relevance. To view all the articles, click on the "View all XX" link on the top right corner of the box.  

Basic Search

Another way to search Opposing Viewpoints is to use the Basic Search box at the top of the page. The search box allows you to enter search terms, including using Boolean Operators to help limit your search. 

In this example we did a search for abortion in the United States among teenagers. The following keywords were used:  abortion, United States and teens. The terms where related together by the Boolean Operator AND - this will narrow the results. You can find more information on Search Strategies and Boolean Operators in the Library Tutorial

The results page shows relevant articles that match our keywords. 

Managing Articles - Opposing Viewpoints in Context

The Opposing Viewpoints in Context database allows you to manage your results either as a topic page or as indidual articles. 

Topic Page


From the Topic Page, use the links under the Tools area, located on the right side of the page to: bookmark, share or e-mail the the page. 

Individual Articles


Each individual article has a tools menu located on the right side of the page. The tools menu has a variety of options to help you manage your articles.

EMAIL - While in article view, click on the "Email" link on the Tools menu. A pop-up window will open. Accurately type your email address and choose any other options that you want, then click "Send". 
SAVE TO FLASH DRIVE- connect flash drive to the USB port. With the full text of the article on the screen, click on the "Download" link on the tools menu. Choose the file type you want to save as (PDF or HTML) then click Download.
The "Save As" dialog opens. Save in the designated drive for the flash drive. Give the file a name. Click Save.
CITATION TOOLS- this database provides help with citations. Click on "Citation Tools" link on the tools menu. A pop-up window will open. Choose the citation style that you are using, then click on Download. A new window will open, click on Open. Your citation will display in a new browser window.   
PRINT- With the full text of the article on the screen, click on the "Print" link on the blue toolbar. Note: when using a computer in the Library Reference and Research area, printouts are picked up at the Circulation Counter. The cost is $0.10 per printed black and white page and $0.25 per color page.