Skip to main content

Home | Library Catalog | Research Databases | E-books | Streaming Videos | Research Guides | Faculty Resources | Contact for Services

Research Tutorial

This tutorial aims to help develop effective library research skills and critical thinking skills in all courses at Prince George's Community College.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES is a robust database offering complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.

Features:

  • Full-text journal articles – current issue back to volume 1, issue 1 for most titles, creating over a century of psychology coverage with articles from as early as 1894
  • All APA published journals plus those from the Canadian Psychological Association and English-language journals from Hogrefe Publishing Group
  • Complete coverage of all subject areas relevant to psychological science including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes

Basic Search

The BASIC search is the default when accessing the ProQuest database. Enter your search terms or keywords in the search box. You can use different Search Strategies, like Boolean operators and double quotations.

This search box also allows for limitations on your results. Check the "Full Text" box to limit the results to articles that are available in full-text on the database. Check the "Peer Reviewed" box to limit the results to scholarly journals. To learn more about the difference between magazines and peer reviewed articles, see the Evaluating Articles section of the Library Tutorial.   

Advanced Search

Another way of searching is to use the Advanced search option. This option allows for multiple search terms or keywords to be entered, without having to write the Boolean operators. It also has more options for limiting your search. 

Once in the landing page of the database, click on Advanced up at the top. 


1. Enter your first keyword 

2. Choose where to search from the drop-down menu (for this example: Subjects All)

3. Choose your Boolean operator (for this example: AND)

4. Enter your second keyword (for this example: depression)

5. Choose where to search from the drop-down menu (for this example: Subjects All)

6. Set your limits (for this example: full-text)

7. Click Search

A list of citations of articles appears that match the specific search criteria that you entered. Results will be in chronological order with the most recently published article first. For this search the database returned 126 articles that contain the subjects African American AND depression and that are available in full-text. 

To read a particular article in its entirety, click on the title (blue underlined link). Most articles will begin with an abstract. Read the abstract first for an initial indication of the content of the article and its usefulness for your project.

This is the article view. In this screen you can read the abstract and the full-text of the article. It also provides options for e-mailing, printing or saving the article. Bibliographic information can also be obtained from this screen.

For this example, indicated by the numbers:

1. Article title:Ethnic and Gender Disparities in Needed Adolescent Mental Health Care  
2. Authors: John F. Thomas, Jeff R. Temple, Noe Perez and Richard Rupp
3. Publication name: Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved
4. Volume and issue number: volume 22, issue 1
5. Date of publication: February 2011
6. Pages: 101-110

Keep in mind that the bibliographic information provided here is not following any citation style. Refer to the style's rules and guidelines for the correct citation format. 

Managing Articles - PsycARTICLES

In PsycARTICLES:

After doing a search, the blue toolbar pictured below will be accessible. (Look for it close to the top of the page.) This toolbar has links to different tools that will help you manage the articles. 

EMAIL - While in article view, click on the "Email" link on the blue toolbar. A pop-up window will open. Accurately type your email address and choose any other options that you want, then click "Send Email". 
SAVE TO FLASH DRIVE- connect flash drive to the USB port. With the full text of the article on the screen, click on the "Export/Save" link on the blue toolbar. Choose the file type you want to save as.
A pop-up window will open with more options. Choose the options you want. Click "Continue". The "Save As" dialog opens. Save in the designated drive for the flash drive. Give the file a name. Click Save.
PRINT- With the full text of the article on the screen, click on the "Print" link on the blue toolbar. Note: when using a computer in the Library Reference and Research area, printouts are picked up at the Circulation Counter. The cost is $0.10 per printed black and white page and $0.25 per color page.