LibGuides: E-books: Gale Ebooks

Art

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Business

Business Plans Handbook
A collection of 24 actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries, with company names and addresses changed. Also includes a business plan template, two fictional business plans, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; a glossary; and an updated bibliography.
Encyclopedia of American Industries
A two-volume business reference that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume 1 covers manufacturing industries; Volume 2 addresses non-manufacturing and service industries. For general and business interest.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Designed for the nonspecialist, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States.
Encyclopedia of Management
Includes essays on 350 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals who have first hand knowledge of the particular topic or essay they are contributing, and reviewed and edited by Dr. Marilyn M. Helms. Topics include aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, and supply chain management, among many others.
Encyclopedia of Small Business
This convenient and exhaustive print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Encyclopedia contains detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business users, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.

History

Cambridge World History of Food
A two-volume history of food and nutrition, and their relation to human health and culture. Covers the spectrum of foods; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. Offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink. Includes a dictionary of plant foods.

Law

Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library
Covering the evolution of the American criminal justice system throughout history, Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library explores everything from juvenile justice to organized crime.

Multicultural Studies

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.

Science

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Provides more than 700 articles intended for the student and layperson covering the social, medical and political issues related to drugs and alcohol, as well as types of addiction. Changes since the last edition include the decrease of crack cocaine use and resurgence of heroin use; changes in laws dealing with drug use at the state and national levels; and new discoveries leading to a better understanding of how drugs work and what makes them addictive.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
ISBN: 9781414486468
Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Real-Life Math
Provides an understanding of commonly studied math concepts by illustrating their use in everyday life in everyday tasks, such as buying insurance, constructing a budget, reading graphs, adjusting cooking recipes or planning for retirement. Topics are designed to support the modern mathematics curriculum and contain examples related to the global economy.
World of Forensic Science
Guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social and ethical issues involved in the forensic sciences.

Social Science

Encyclopedia of Sociology
This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 650 articles -- 65% of those are entirely new or updated since the last edition.

Platform Benefits

Search individually or as a complete collection
Full-text eBooks
Authoritative references
24/7 access from any Internet-connected computer
ReadSpeaker technology (text-to-speech) allowing text to be read aloud to users and downloaded in MP3 format
No special reader or hardware required
Ability to print, e-mail and download articles
On-demand content translation into 11 languages
Unlimited simultaneous use