Skip to main content

Citation Style Guides: Citations from Databases

This Research Guide was designed to provide you with assistance in citing your sources when writing an academic paper.

Citations from Databases

Most of the databases available through the PGCC Library have citation help integrated into each article. The location of the link/button varies by the databases, but it is usually located in the tools menu.

Below is an example of how to find and use the citation help from one of the more popular databases, ProQuest. 

Proquest


After doing a search and finding an article to use; click on the article title to view the entry. At the right side of the page there is a gray box with different options. Click on the CITE button to get help with the citation of this article.

proquest citation example screencap 01

A pop-up window will open over the document. (Not getting a new window when you click? Make sure your browser is set to allow pop-up windows)

proquest citation example screencap 02

Choose the citation style needed from the drop-down menu and click on CHANGE to refresh the window. 

proquest citation example screencap 03

The window will re-load with the article citation in the style chosen. Copy and paste the citation into your document. Make sure to check the citation created against the style guide rules. Remember that these are machine created and some errors may be present. 

proquest citation example screencap 04

Other Databases


Other databases also provide help with citations. The Gale product databases have CITATION TOOLS under the TOOLS area, located to the right of the articles. It works in a similar way as the Proquest tool:

  • Click on the link to launch a new pop-up window
  • Choose the needed style
  • Wait for the window to refresh and generate the citation
  • Copy and paste into the document

 As with citations generated by ProQuest, make sure to check them for errors against the style rules. 

 

Academic OneFile Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Citations created by research databases are machine generated and may contain errors. They should only serve as a guide and not as a replacement for the latest guidebooks or those required by your instructor. Please refer to the provided examples or consult the style manual for proper formatting.