Databases - EGL 1010 - Composition I - LibGuides at Prince George's Community College

General Databases (Interdisciplinary)

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full-text articles, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and video files from multiple subjects.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer reviewed research from multiple subjects.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.

Issues and Trends

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects, CQ Researcher has been the choice of students over 80 years. Each weekly issue—written by an experienced CQ Press reporter—is an in-depth, single topic report featuring more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.

Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search

Writing

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.

EGL 1010 - Composition I: Databases