Skip to main content

Home | Library Catalog | Research Databases | E-books | Streaming Videos | Research Guides | Faculty Resources | Contact for Services

PSY 2110 - Psychology and African-Americans

This Research Guide was developed for use with the PSY 2110 class taught by Dr. Lewis. It provides information on: psychology databases: how to access, search and manage articles, plagiarism, APA and books and e-books on psychology.

About the Course

PSY 2110 - Psychology and African-Americans 

This course examines the history of American psychology in the context of how African-Americans have been studied and treated during the past one hundred years or more. 

  • Theories of racial identity development are contrasted and utilized to explain the behavior of black and white Americans. 
  • Belief systems and world views are explored to determine their relevance for understanding behavior in general.
  • The psychology of African-Americans is viewed from an Afrocentric, humanistic, and socio-culture perspective.

Students are exposed to the multicultural perspective in psychology and are encouraged to use this perspective for understanding behavior in the broadest context.

About The LibGuide

This Research Guide provides information on:

  • African American Psychologists
  • Psychology databases
  • How to access databases
  • How to search databases
  • How to manage articles found in the databases
  • Evaluating Articles
  • Plagiarism
  • APA Citation Style
  • Books / Ebooks from African American psychologists
  • Streaming Videos on African Americans and psychology

It also includes a section with information on the PGCC Library and the services it provides.