Issues and Trends
Contents: Weekly report that gives a balanced view of today's most pressing social, political, and economic issues. Each report covers the given topic in a non-sensationalized manner, and many reports feature a pro/con debate, highlighting both sides of the argument.
Purpose: Provides unbiased views of current, controversial topics and insight into historical issues through it's archive.
Special Features: Pro/Con debates, Hot Topics, Footnotes/References
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full text articles, pro/con articles, multimedia content, and other research materials.
Purpose: Provides access to multiple sources and authoritative information on current event and hot topics.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Education
Content: Includes full-text scholarly journals and dissertations supporting research on the theory and practice of education. It also covers literature and research on special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Purpose: Provides access to a large range of full-text journals and dissertations supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Special Features: Research tools including save, email, cite functions.
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full-text articles, and other research materials. Cross referenced with sources in ERIC database.
Purpose: Provides access to scholarship on a variety of education topics.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Content: Includes citations to millions of education journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for education topics.
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full-text articles, and other research materials.
Purpose: Provides access to scholarship on a variety of leadership and management topics for educators.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Content: An online collection of skill-building resources in english, math, and science
Purpose: Good starting point for self-directed study or as supplemental materials for developmental projects
Background Information
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search
General Databases (Interdisciplinary)
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full-text articles, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and video files from multiple subjects.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer reviewed research from multiple subjects.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.