LibGuides: Music : Databases

Music

Arts & Humanities Database
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets with journals, magazines, newspapers, and includes titles covering Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. This resource combines the content of Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, and Gale Literature: Something About the Author into a single research environment. Previously Gale Literary Sources.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Petrucci Music Library This link opens in a new window
Content: Public domain music scores.
Purpose: Students can find music scores both contemporary and non-contemporary composers
Special Features: Content is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 License.

List of Open Access Music Journals
Searchable database of open access music journals.

Biography

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Content: Biographical information, full text articles, and other research materials of people and individuals across different subjects
Purpose: Provides access to multiple sources and information about specific individuals
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.

General Databases (Interdisciplinary)

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full-text articles, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and video files from multiple subjects.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer reviewed research from multiple subjects.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search
General Onefile This link opens in a new window
Content: Multidisciplinary content in a number of different formats, from academic articles to magazines.
Purpose: Provides users with a broad range of content about diverse topics in different source types.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.

Music : Databases

Research Databases