LibGuides: Allied Health: Internet Resources

Government Websites

Agency for Health Care Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Collaborating to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.
Health
Find an A-Z list of health topics and resources on insurance, prescription drugs, nutrition, caregiving, and more. USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
National Library of Medicine
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Anatomy & Physiology

Anatomy & Physiology
The Anatomy and Physiology module introduces the structure and function of the human body. (From SEER Training Modules).
Get Body Smart
An online textbook about human anatomy and physiology.
Healthline Body Maps
BodyMaps is an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. Users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works.

Open Access Journals are journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. The journals must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). To find journals, explorer their website.

DOAJ -- Directory of Open Access Journals

All SpringerOpen journals are open access and the entire content is freely and immediately available online. All journals are subject to high-quality standards, with rigorous peer review and high-level author and production services. Articles published in SpringerOpen journals are automatically deposited in all major bibliographic databases and institutional repositories.

BMC
Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.
SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen includes Springer’s portfolio of over 100 peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.