EGL 2050 - Early American Literature: Databases

Content: Literary commentary, biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, reviews on writers, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors. 

Purpose: Faculty and students can search for resources related to authors or works and analyze content in entirely new ways.

Special Features: Browse by topic, search for an author, search for a specific work, see your search history, and much more!

Content: Includes access to Gale Literature Resource Center (literary commentary), Gale Literature Criticism (biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers), and Gale Literature: Something About the Author (lives/works of children and young adult authors and illustrators).

Purpose: This interface brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.

Special Features: Browse by topic, search for an author, search for a specific work, see your search history, and much more!

Content: E-book title collection

Purpose: Users may read the full text of e-books on literary criticisms of selected novels and authors

Content: A comprehensive reference database covering all aspects of Asian American Theatre.  

Purpose: Provide full text plays from 252 plays by 42 playwrights.  

Special features: Includes playbills, production photographs etc. related to the plays 

This theatre database offers in-depth coverage of Black Theatre, featuring over 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights. Designed to support research and learning, this database offers full-text access to a wide range of plays, making it an invaluable resource for students studying theatre, history, and culture in Black Theatre.

Special Features:
Playbills & Production Photos: Explore playbills, production photographs, and other visual materials related to the plays to enrich your understanding of their performances and impact.

This literature database covers all aspects of Latino literature, including poems, novels, and plays. With a focus on works that explore the rich cultural and historical experiences of Latino communities, this database is perfect for research projects and literary criticism.

Special Features:
Audio Files: Enjoy selected poems and plays in audio format, enhancing your engagement with the texts and providing a deeper connection to the language and performance of these works.

This theatre database covers all aspects of Indigenous American Theatre, offering an extensive collection of plays that highlight the rich cultural narratives and traditions of Indigenous communities. With 244 plays by 48 playwrights, it provides invaluable insights into Native American storytelling, history, and performance art. The database is designed to support students by providing full-text access to a wide variety of plays, making it an essential resource for studying Indigenous American theatre, culture, and history.

Special Features:
Playbills & Production Photos: Explore related playbills, production photographs, and other visual materials to deepen your understanding of these plays and their cultural context.

This theatre database covers all aspects of Canadian and American Theatre, offering a diverse collection of plays that span a wide range of genres, themes, and historical periods. It provides students with access to significant works from both countries, showcasing the evolution of theatre in North America.

This theatre database offers a deep dive into the world of Women’s Theatre in North America. It provides a wealth of resources, exploring all facets of women’s contributions to the stage, from historical to contemporary works. Have access to full-text versions of 1,517 plays written by 330 influential female playwrights. Perfect for research, study, and understanding the evolution of women’s voices in the theatre.

Special Features:
Beyond the plays themselves, the database includes valuable visual and promotional materials such as playbills, production photographs, and more, allowing for a fuller understanding of the theatrical context in which these works were presented.

This theatre database covers every aspect of theatre, including a vast collection of primary sources, critical research materials, and historical documents. Explore the history of theatre and its productions with in-depth resources that track the evolution of playwriting, performance, and theatrical movements. Whether you're researching specific plays, playwrights, or the cultural impact of theatre, this database is your key to uncovering the rich history behind the stage.

This theatre database explores every aspect of Twentieth Century Theatre, offering an extensive collection of materials that span the century’s theatrical developments. You will have access to full-text versions of 1,905 plays written by 419 playwrights. This database provides in-depth insights into the influential plays and playwrights that shaped theatre during this transformative period.

Special Features:
In addition to the full texts, the database includes a wealth of related materials, such as playbills, production photographs, and more, providing context and enhancing your understanding of the historical and cultural significance of these works.