On this page, you will learn about the Library databases used in PSY 1010.
Review this page as you need to. Even if you have previous experience with library research, the resources and content listed can help you be more confident about working with library resources.
A database is a searchable repository of journal articles, newspapers, magazines, and other scholarly resources. Google does not have access to much of the credible scholarly information available. Using the databases the PGCC Library subscribes to will give you access to millions of credible scholarly resources.
Databases can be multidisciplinary, such as Academic OneFile or subject specific, such as PsycARTICLES. A database will have both abstract-only summaries (no full-text articles) and full-text articles attached.
The A-Z Database List allows users to find and search individual databases that the library subscribes to.
Users can view all the databases alphabetically, search for a database by title, or use the three drop downs on the A-Z Database List to search for databases by subject, type, or vendor.
Quick Steps to Psychology databases using PGCC's A-Z Database list:
Psychology Database - Began your search in this database as it offers current, peer-reviewed academic resources from APA journals. Librarian tip: Psychology researchers often cite journal articles that have empirical research. The hallmark of empirical research is original results. Avoid journal articles or studies that review research or literature. A quick way to narrow to empirical research is "case study" in advance search available in this database.
PsycARTICLES - Do you need a journal article that uses a specific research method? Then give PsycARTICLES a search. This database is a collection of citations and lots of scholarly journals from the American Psychology Association. Librarian tip: Looking for a specific research method used in a scholarly article? Use the Methodology filter from Advance Search or the search results page to narrow results to a research method. Go to methods include: Empirical Study, Qualitative Study, and Quantitative Study.
Psychology: Gale OneFile - Psychology Collection is a good all-around database. It has a ton of content including peer-review sources, including journal articles from PsycARTICLES. One can do a preliminary search on a topic to see what current research there is or what potential sources there are. Librarian tip: Looking for additional topics or search terms? Are you exploring connections among topics and terms? Use Topic Finder in advance search.
Sociology Databases - Check out this database when you want to explore the social in social psychology. Librarian tip: use your psychology terms when searching to find articles with psychology information. In the search results, read the abstract to identify journal article of interest. An abstract is a condensed version of a journal article - highlighting questions, methods, results, and conclusions.
US Newsstream - Search the most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Librarian tip: This database provides access major newspapers and news organizations like the Washington Post, New York Times, and CNN. Look in the Health or Science section in newspapers or Health or Science webpages on News websites for psychology-related news articles.
News: Gale OneFile - This database provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, including international newspapers. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Librarian tip: When looking for news articles on psychology include search terms like "research" in your search.
In this module, you learned about the A-Z list and Library databases for psychology.
Important takeaways
Now, using the Library Scavenger Hunt handout, please answer questions 2, 3, 4, 8.