Skip to main content

E-books: E-books

This Research Guide offers information on the e-books available through the Library.

What is an ebook?

The Oxford Dictionary of English defines an e-book "an electronic version of a printed book which can be read on a computer or a specifically designed handheld device."

The library offers e-books through the following services (for more information on each service, click on the title):

In addition to the services provided by the Library, some books that have been placed in the public domain can be found for free online. You can find an assortment of these websites in this section:

Finding eBooks in the Library

The Library specifically purchases thousands of books and e-books to support the classes taught at the College. The best way to find these resources is to use the Summon search box, which searches all the library's resources in one location.

How to search:

  • Click on the Books tab
  • Enter the title or subject term you are researching in the search box
  • Click SEARCH
  • Results will open in a new window

NOTE: This search will retrieve both print and electronic books. To display e-books only: click on Full Text Online, under the Refine Your Search menu on the top left side of the page. 

Search for articles, books and videos in PGCC Library
Advanced Search | A-Z Database List
Search for peer reviewed articles from PGCC research databases
Advanced Search | A-Z Database List | Periodicals Locator
Search for print books / e-books
Advanced Search | Online Catalog | E-book Collections
Search for streaming videos, DVDs and CDs
Advanced Search | Streaming Video Collections
Loading ...

Having trouble with Summon? You can also access the e-book collections directly using the links provided at the top of this page.

How eBooks Work

What do I need to read an e-book?

The e-books provided by the PGCC Library can be read online using your computer's browser. To view the e-book, click on the title that you want to read. A new window will launch with your selection. (If you are off-campus you'll need to login with your OWL Link username and password.) 

Mobile Devices

E-books can also be read using a web enabled mobile device. Navigate your tablet or phone's browser to the PGCC library's website and choose E-book Collections from the menu. To view the e-book click on the title and a new window will launch with your selection. (To access e-books through your mobile device you will need to login with your OWL Link username and password.) 

Who can borrow e-books?

E-books can be used by enrolled students, faculty, administrators, and staff.

Do I need to download any programs to view them?

At this time, the e-books provided by the PGCC library do not require any additional software to view/read. All titles can be access through the PGCC library website with a web browser.

Can I search e-books?

Yes, all the e-books can be searched. Once you have accessed the e-book, use the search function. In some cases, multiple volumes can be searched by clicking the "all volumes" option. 

What other features are available?

Most e-book providers have a range of additional features available:

  • Text or PDF View
  • Download PDF to e-reader 
  • Highlight text
  • Create notes

For more in depth information, click on the tabs above to learn about the library's different e-book collections.