Skip to Main Content

E-books: EBSCOhost E-book Collections

This Research Guide offers information on the e-books available through the Library.

EBSCOhost E-book Collections


This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 83,000 titles are included in this collection, and additional titles are added each month.

My EBSCOhost Account & Downloading E-books

My EBSCOhost Account

Why should you create a My EBSCOhost account? There are various advantages to creating a personal account with EBSCOhost: 

  • My Folder - this feature enables you to create bookmarks and notes as you conduct your research. It also has information on checked out e-books. My Folder is password protected, and can be accessed from any computer with Internet access
  • Bookmark and Annotate- while EBSCOhost allows bookmarking and annotating when using the Full Text view, these notes are not saved and will be lost once you exit the e-book. Having an account saves all this information, which can be retrieved for later use.
  • Download - an account allows you to download the e-book

EBSCOhost offers three different viewing options for downloading e-books:

  1. Desktop - using Adobe Digital Editions
  2. Apple and Android Devices - using the Bluefire Reader app
  3. Kindle - PDFs can be created in the Full-Text view and transferred to the Kindle using the "Send to Kindle" 

E-books are available in PDF format -this option is accessible on most computers and devices, without additional software installation

(An Adobe ID is required to download and view e-books using Adobe Digital Editions and Bluefire Reader App. To learn more about Adobe ID or to get one, visit the My Adobe Account page. Then click on the "Don't have an Adobe ID?" link to get started.)

Desktop - Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions

  • Download Adobe Digital Editions - available free online
  • Login to your EBSCOhost account
  • Find the e-book that you wish to download and click on Download This Ebook (Offline) 
  • Choose your checkout period from the dropdown menu (1 to 7 days)
  • Click Checkout and Download
  • Click OK to open the file in Adobe Digital Editions
  • The document will download (large documents may take a while, depending on your Internet connection)
  • Once the download is finished the document will show up on your ADE library

Compatible Devices

The following popular devices are compatible with Adobe Digital Editions. For a complete list, visit their Supported Devices website

  • Barnes & Noble - Nook, NookColor, NookTouch
  • HTC - Flyer Tablet
  • Kobo - Kobo eReader N416, Literati Wireless Reader, Kobo Desktop for Windows, Kobo Touch
  • Sony - Sony Reader

Additional Information about Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) program:

  • After the 7 days, the book will expire 
  • Downloaded files will appear on your desktop or in your 'Downloads' folder 
  • Bookmarks and notes to downloaded files are not stored on your bookshelf
  • Bookmarks and notes made to the document using EBSCOhost e-books through your browser do not carry over when downloaded to ADE
  • Accessible on most computers and devices

Apple and Android Devices - Bluefire Reader App

  • Download the Bluefire Reader app - available for free for both Apple and Android devices
  • Login to your EBSCOhost account
  • Find the e-book that you wish to download and click on Download This Ebook (Offline) 
  • Choose your checkout period from the dropdown menu (1 to 7 days)
  • Click Checkout and Download
  • Click Open in Bluefire Reader to open the file in the Bluefire app
  • The Bluefire Reader app will launch
  • The document will download (large documents may take a while, depending on your Internet connection)
  • Once the download is finished the document will show up on your Bluefire Reader library

Kindle

  • Using Amazon's Send to Kindle options, you can send your saved EBSCOhost eBook pages in PDF format to your Kindle device or Kindle app on iPhone or Android devices, or read them using Kindle for the Chrome browser.
  • For more information, go to http://www.amazon.com/gp/sendtokindle

To print (or save) eBooks pages as a PDF:

  • Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.
  • Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Print icon in the right column.
  • The Print PDF menu is displayed.
  • Select the page(s) to send to your Kindle
    • Current Page: Print only the page you are viewing.
    • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to 60) in the field provided.
    • This Section: Select to print the entire section of the eBook. (If available to select)
       
  • Select Send as E-mail to e-mail the selected pages as a PDF file to yourself.

Note: eBook pages saved as a PDF can be transferred to, and read on eReader devices such as the Nook or Kindle. Consult your device's user manual for instructions on how to manually transfer files to the device.

Help for E-books on EBSCOhost

The EBSCO Help page is designed to cover the features and functions of EBSCO eBooks on EBSCO interfaces. This includes how to search for and download eBooks.

Online Tutorials

Use these online tutorials to learn more about the EBSCOhost Academic E-book Collection. Tutorials were created by EBSCOhost.

Available categories:

  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Children's & Young Adult Nonfiction
  • Arts & Architecture
  • Biographies & Memoirs
  • Business & Economics
  • Computer Science
  • Education
  • Engineering & Technology
  • Fiction
  • General Nonfiction
  • Health & Medicine
  • History
  • Law
  • Literature & Criticism
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Reference
  • Religion
  • Sciences
  • Self-Help & Family
  • Social Sciences
  • Study Aids & Language Learning