LibGuides: Nursing: Internet Resources

Internet Resources

Government Websites

Agency for Health Care Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Collaborating to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
DailyMed
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.
Drug Interactions: What You Should Know
This information is brought to you by the Council on Family Health in cooperation with the National Consumers League and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Health
Find an A-Z list of health topics and resources on insurance, prescription drugs, nutrition, caregiving, and more. USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal.
Health Topics - MedlinePlus
Read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 900 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to: encourage collaborations across communities and sectors, empower individuals toward making informed health decisions, and measure the impact of prevention activities.
National Institutes of Health
The nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
National Library of Medicine
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration'
The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Websites

Diseases Database
A cross-referenced index of human disease, medications, symptoms, signs, abnormal investigation findings etc. This site provides a medical textbook-like index and search portal covering areas including: symptoms and signs, congenital and inherited disorders, infectious diseases, drugs and medications.
DrugBank
A unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
Drugs.com
The most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Martindale’s Virtual Nursing Center
Includes video tutorials, guides, lectures, and directories of useful nursing information.
Nursing Theory & Research (University of San Diego)
Provides an overview and background information of major theoretical models in the nursing profession.

Anatomy & Physiology

Anatomy & Physiology
The Anatomy and Physiology module introduces the structure and function of the human body. (From SEER Training Modules)
Get Body Smart
An online textbook about human anatomy and physiology.
Healthline Body Maps
BodyMaps is an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. Users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works.

Open Access Journals are journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. The journals must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). To find journals, explorer their website.

DOAJ -- Directory of Open Access Journals

All SpringerOpen journals are open access and the entire content is freely and immediately available online. All journals are subject to high-quality standards, with rigorous peer review and high-level author and production services. Articles published in SpringerOpen journals are automatically deposited in all major bibliographic databases and institutional repositories.

BMC
Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.
SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen includes Springer’s portfolio of over 100 peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.

Maryland & Nationwide Associations

Maryland Nurses Association
The only state-wide, non-profit, multipurpose professional membership organization for Registered Nurses in Maryland. The primary purpose of MNA is to provide direction and a voice for the profession of nursing in Maryland.
American Nurses Association
The only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent member nurses associations and its organizational affiliates.
National Student Nurses Association
With a membership of approximately 58,000 nationwide, the National Student Nurses' Association mentors the professional development of future registered nurses and facilitates their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance.
Nurse Zone
An online community dedicated to providing nurses with professional and personal development information and opportunities. Users will find a wealth of helpful content, from nursing experts’ tips and advice to features on new medical trends, the latest nursing practices, inspiring personal stories, community forums and blogs, and links to continuing education courses, jobs and a variety of nursing-related Web sites.

Career & Education

All Nursing Schools
A comprehensive online directory of accredited nursing schools.
Nursing Profiles
Find information on different kinds of nurses, including: type of work done, the necessary degree, and career outlook.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Healthcare Occupations
Healthcare occupations are projected to add more jobs than any of the other occupational groups. This projected growth is mainly due to an aging population, leading to greater demand for healthcare services.
The Role of LGBTQ+ Student Organizations in Nursing Schools: Promoting Diversity and Inclusion
LGBTQ+ student organizations in nursing schools promote diversity, inclusion, and culturally competent care by advocating for gender diversity, educating on LGBTQ+ health issues, and creating safe spaces for LGBTQ+ students and allies.