Listen Option
These Gale databases also offer the Listen option, where you can have the article read to you.
"Convenient for users and easy to implement, the ReadSpeaker function converts text and streams the corresponding audio content without any software downloads or special plug-ins needed. Users can select any portion of text, or an entire article to be streamed as audio. With a click of a button, any Gale database text can be read aloud via the user’s computer, thus making Gale content accessible in a new way. These audio segments can also be saved as MP3 files for use on MP3 players for listening at a later time."
The video below is an example of the Listen option.
Text taken from "Gale Databases to Feature Text-to-Speech Option via ReadSpeaker."Cengage Learning. Cengage Learning Websites, 24 Mar. 2008. Web. 21 Aug. 2015.
Translate Option
Another great feature is the TRANSLATE option. The video below demonstrates how to use this feature.
*The LISTEN option can be used with translated articles. The ReadSpeaker function will read the article in the chosen language.
How to Limit by Lexile Reading Level
Limit by Lexile Reading Level
The following databases allow the user to limit the results based on lexile reading levels (or content levels). These limit options can be found under ADVANCED SEARCH.
Content: Biographical information, full text articles, and other research materials of people and individuals across different subjects
Purpose: Provides access to multiple sources and information about specific individuals
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full text articles, multimedia content, and other research materials.
Purpose: Provides access to multiple sources and authoritative information on current event and hot topics related to global issues.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full text articles, pro/con articles, multimedia content, and other research materials.
Purpose: Provides access to multiple sources and authoritative information on current event and hot topics.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.
Content: Peer reviewed journals, full text articles, multimedia content, and other scientific research materials.
Purpose: Provides access to multiple sources and authoritative information on hot topics in science.
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature; Save content to Google Drive.