Finding research-based information is an act of discovery. Using focused search strategies in the better sources of research information will yield strong results.
On this page, you will find the best methods for identifying your keywords and subject terms. Additionally, information on the research databases will be explained.
LGBTQ+ means Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered, and Questioning. The + sign refers to other terms that may be used, but not readily stated.
LGBTQ+ studies can be found in all fields of scholarship: Social Sciences, History, Literature, the Arts, the Sciences, etc. Research may also be cross-disciplinary. How you locate research information will depend largely on what field of scholarship you are interested in.
It is to your benefit to explore each research database and teach yourself how to use the database to its fullest potential. Every database has a help screen which will show you how to utilize all functions of the database.
Content: Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
Content: This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six sub collections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations. A separate sub collection, Historical Attitudes and Analysis, presents books, pamphlets, reports, and more from the 18th century through the mid-20th century.
Purpose: Provides access to legal materials, scholarly and authoritative information on LGBTQ+ rights in the United States.
