TED 1200: Module 4

Chapter explores structured activities like sports and school, discusses problems that impact development, and reviews psychology theories to understand child development in middle childhood.

Encyclopedia article that reviews key cognitive, motor, and social developments in middle childhood from a psychological/health perspective.

An encyclopedia article that gives background information on relationships in early and middle childhood.

This encyclopedia has six parts. Part three is about childhood and chapter ten is about middle childhood. It has in-depth research-based information and cited references.

This books provides key child development theories for teachers. Chapters three and four on cognitive development are especially useful and chapter seven on intelligence is important for middle childhood.

This book summarizes theories and research on mind development through lifespan stages. Chapter six on preadolescence covers topics and development relevant to middle childhood.

During middle childhood, the period between ages 5 and 12, children gain the basic tools, skills and motivations to become productive members of their society. Failure to acquire these basic tools can lead to long-term consequences for children's future education, work and family life. In this book, first published in 2006, the editors assemble contributions from fifteen longitudinal studies representing diverse groups in the United States, Canada, New Zealand and the United Kingdom to learn what developmental patterns and experiences in middle childhood contexts forecast the directions children take when they reach adolescence and adulthood

Between ages 6 and 12, children reach many critical milestones. Teacher and caregiver responses during this time can dramatically affect a child's physical, cognitive, social, and emotional growth. Children gain body awareness and form lifelong habits that affect their health. Their minds expand as thinking processes become more organized. They develop self-concepts and self-esteem. This detailed, well-organized program presents educator insights, pertinent vocabulary, statistics, and classroom strategies for fostering development during middle childhood.

Developmental research has found that children's creative thinking ability tends to decline during middle childhood. However, this decline has not been consistently demonstrated, and the underlying neural and behavioral factors that affect fluctuations in children's creative thinking ability remain uncharacterized.

To document typical rhythmic synchronization during middle childhood, we used a wireless motion capture device to measure period- and phase-locking of full body movement to rhythm and metronome stimuli in 6 to 11 year-old children in comparison with adult data. Results show a gradual improvement with age; however children’s performance did not reach adult levels by age 12, suggesting that these skills continue to develop during adolescence. Our results suggest that in the absence of specific music training, full-body rhythmic entrainment skills improve gradually during middle childhood, and provide metrics for examining the continued maturation of these skills during adolescence.

This article investigates food insecurity and child develop by examining findings from research studies. It includes study participants from birth to twelve years old.

This article examines the needs of children in Middle Childhood and the research needed to better understand this age group.

This Handbook provides in-depth information on how outside group processes influence children and youth.

A handbook for teacher-child interactions. This handbook provides guidelines for teacher-child that foster and extend learning.

Reflections from teachers on interactions that impact a child's development.

This study tested the potential mediating roles of various cognitive abilities in middle childhood (i.e., short-term memory [STM], sustained attention, and inhibitory control) in the associations between home learning environment in early childhood and child adjustment in multiple domains during early adolescence (i.e., internalizing and externalizing problems, language skills, and social competence).