LibGuides: Women's Studies: Internet Sources

Archives & Special Collections

(Source: Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture)

American Women
Texts, prints, sound recordings, oral histories, and maps are available from the Library of Congress' American Memory. This project chronicles the figures, events, and movements that shaped our nation.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
Peruse a selection of books, pamphlets, and other artifacts from the National American Woman Suffrage Assocation Collection, 1848-1921. This collection contains works from noted suffragettes Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Alice Stone Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, Elizabeth Smith Miller, Mary A. Livermore, and others.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is a federal agency that documents and preserves materials of historical significance. You can search their catalog, access archival documents and images, scan genealogical records, or go on a virtual tour of an exhibition. Once you've entered the site, click "Research a Specific Topic;" from there you can go to the subject marked "People" and select the link "Women."
National Women's History Museum
The National Women's History Museum, founded in 1996, has a wealth of resources for researchers. Visitors to the site can scan subject guides and biographies, browse images from the museum's exhibitions, listen to podcasts, or receive information on upcoming events.
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
Housed within Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture contains archival materials on women artists, authors, and publishers, women of color, domestic culture, sexuality and gender, amongst other subjects.
Women Working, 1800-1930
This digital collection, from Harvard University libraries, provides books, manuscripts, photographs, and pamphlets that explore the economic and social lives of women. Subjects include working conditions and workplace regulations, domestic life, recreation, commerce, and health and hygiene.

Women's History Month

March is Women's History Month! Check out information on nominees and honorees, local and national events, collections, and resources for educators.

Digital Collections

Looking for images to add to your paper or presentation? Search these digital repositories.

(Source: Retronaut)

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Content: An image database of architecture, visual art and fine arts.
Purpose: Good starting point for background or in-depth research in the arts.

Library of Congress Photostream (Flickr)
The Library of Congress has made a portion of their photo collection available via Flickr. You can search by keyword, person, date, or location. Feel free to tag or comment on the images as you go!
NYPL Digital Collections
The NYPL Digital Gallery has digitized over 800,000 images, including manuscripts, prints, photographs, and maps. You can search by keyword, subject, date, or collection.
Retronaut
A collection of rare and obscure images from the fields of art, history, science, medicine, geography, advertising, and fashion. You can search by keyword, date, subject, or recommendations from fellow users.

Organizations & Associations

These academic institutions and organizations are committed to the equality, visibility, health, and safety of women. You'll find research materials, as well as information on policy-making, volunteering, internships, career opportunities, and events.