Skip to Main Content

Canvas and Library Resources

How to add and use library resources in Canvas using persistent links and LTIs

Gale resources in Canvas 

The resources listed are available for Gale when using the LTI tool (in the Rich Text editor)

  • eBooks
  • Journal articles 
  • Videos
  • Dissertations
  • Newspapers

Gale Databases and resources can be added in the Canvas areas listed:

  • Navigation Panel - Gale Databases
  • File - Gale Databases and Resources 
  • Assignment - Gale Resources
  • Page - Gale Databases and Resources
  • Quiz - Gale Resources
  • Discussion - Gale Resources

Add Gale databases to a Canvas course

Gale's LTI tool adds a Gale database to a course or Gale resources from the Rich Text Editor.

In step 2, the instructor will need to choose external tool from the drop-down menu. The next step is to select a Gale database to add to the Canvas course.  

 
Steps to add a Gale database using the LTI tool 

Step 1 - Open a Canvas course and click + in the Module header

Step 2 - Select external tool; choose any Gale database from the external tool list  
 
Step 3 - On the Add Item to box, click Add Item button

Add Gale resources to a course

Instructors can integrate the library's digital resources (eBooks, Articles, Streaming videos) in Canvas courses using the LTI tool. Instructors can add Gale resources using the LTI tool from the Rich Text Editor.

 
Steps 1 & 2 - In the Rich Text Editor, click the Apps icon and choose any Gale database from the Apps list  

 
Step 3 - Search for a resource from the Gale database

 
Step 4 - Choose a resource and click Link to Document or Embed Document  

 
Step 5 - On the Add Item to box, click Add Item button.