Skip to Main Content

Canvas and Library Resources

How to add and use library resources in Canvas using persistent links and LTIs

Persistent Links for Journals and Newspapers

1. Go to the library website and click on Periodical Locator in Resources. Curious about the Periodical Locator? Click How to use the Periodical Locator.  

2. Check the Journal only circle; In the search box, enter the Journal/Newspaper title and click search   

3. Click on the Database link for the Journal you want to use 

4. On the library database page, in the upper right corner, look for the persistent link icon

5. Copy the persistent link

6. Open Canvas and use the persistent link in the course where you want to share the content

Note:

The library may have access to the journal/newspaper through multiple databases with different dates of coverage, so you might have to direct your students to the best one for your intended use.

 

Periodical Locator

Follow steps 1-2, search by title or browse by subject/discipline 

Step 3 - On the results list, find the Journal and click the database link for the Journal.
A journal can be in multiple databases with different coverage dates. Choose the database link that meets your instructional need.    

 

ProQuest

Follow steps 1-3, selecting the Database link that meets your teaching needs

Step 4 - Click the Copy URL button (button in the upper right corner in ProQuest)

Step 5 - Copy the URL at the top of box

Follow step 6 pasting the persistent link in the course or course materials

 

Gale Databases

Follow steps 1-3, selecting the Database link that meets your teaching needs
Step 4 - Click the Get Link icon (icon in the upper right corner in Gale databases)

 
Step 5 - Copy the URL in the box

Follow step 6 pasting the persistent link in the course or course materials