Canvas and Library Resources

Databases available in Canvas

The table below lists library databases available in Canvas using the LTI Tool, including areas where a library database or it's resources (articles, books, images, videos) can appear in a Canvas course. 

LTI Tool 

Instructors can integrate the library's digital resources (eBooks, Articles, Streaming videos) in a Canvas course using the LTI tool. The LTI tool is available for some but not all library databases. 

The image below shows step two. The instructor will need to choose external tool from the drop-down menu. The next step is to select a library database to search and add the library resource (eBook, Article, or Streaming video) to the course.  

Basic steps for using the LTI tool

1. Open a Canvas course and click + in the Module header
2. Select external tool; choose a library database from the external tool list     
3. Search for a resource from the library database
4. Choose a resource and click the embed or select this document button  
5. On the Add Item to box, click Add Item button 

Step 2 - Select external tool; choose a library database from the external tool list  

The LTI Tool in the Rich Text Editor 

Instructors can add a library resource using the LTI Tool from the Rich Text Editor in Canvas.

Rich Text Editor is available in:

• File
• Assignment
• Discussion
• Page
• Quiz 

Use the apps button to search a library database and add a library resource.  

Use Record URL to create a persistent link to a resource or Embed code to add resource in a Canvas course. 

Note: 

Some databases (e.g. ProQuest databases) will only create a persistent link to library resource from the Rich Text Editor. 

Databases that provide a persistent link or embed code:

• Gale databases
• African-American history
• American history
• Bloom's literature
• Films on Demand